Eighth Street Middle School

Skip to main content
Main Menu Toggle
Media Center » Reader of the Year

Reader of the Year

  1. Accelerated Reader (AR) points will be used to determine Reader of the Year winners.  Points will be based on points earned not possible points. This will show fairness to all readers
  2. Beginning April 1st of each year, the student should strive to read from the grade level he/she will enter in the fall.  At the end of the following school year (March 31st for IRA ROTY), the student’s average reading level cannot be more than one grade level below their current grade level.  For example, a 5th grade student must have an average reading level of 4.0 or higher to be declared level winner for his/her school.        
  3. Students in grades 7-12 must read on 5th grade level or above.
  4. Variety of reading is a must!  Choose books from fiction, non-fiction, biographies, and various authors. Summer reading is encouraged.  However, the parent and/or student are responsible for keeping up with summer points and turning them in to their teacher at the beginning of the school year.
  5. Kindergarten students will be considered a group by themselves. Winners in the K contest will represent class and school.  Students will receive ½  point for any books that are not Accelerated Reader (AR) books whether they read the book themselves or the book is read to them.  Parents are responsible for making a list of all non-AR books their child has read or had read to him/her.  This list should include the title, author’s name, number of pages, and the date the book was read.  Only non-AR books should be listed on your list.  Students will receive points for AR tests passed.  Kindergarten students may have AR books read to them or they may read the books themselves.  Participants must read at least 10 books or have 5 AR points to be considered a participant.    
  6. After March 31, media specialists will make student’s AR book lists  available to the classroom teacher.
  7. Students in grades 1-12 will be judged by grade level.  There will be one school winner per grade level. County winners will also be chosen for each grade level.  State representatives will then be chosen according to state categories of K-2, 3-5, 6-8, 9-12.  
  8. Reader of the Year participants in grades 1-12 must read a minimum of 10 points times his/her grade level  (example, 1st grade =10 points, 2nd grade =20 points, 3rd grade =30 points, 4th grade =40 points, etc.).  Students in grades 1-12 must read all books themselves and cannot have books read to them.
  9. Only points earned between April 1 and March 31 will be accepted. Reader lists turned in after announced deadline date will not be accepted.